-1.9 C
Friday, January 27, 2023

PM Modi, Amit Shah, BJP bigwigs to attend Bhupendra Patel’s oath ceremony in Gujarat tomorrow | Top points

Must read

Along with Bhupendra Patel, some new ministers are also expected to take the oath in Gujarat’s Gandhinagar on Monday.

New Delhi ,UPDATED: Dec 11, 2022 23:20 IST

Bhupendra Patel will take oath as Gujarat CM on Monday.

Bhupendra Patel will take oath as Gujarat CM on Monday. (PTI)

By India Today Web Desk: Bhupendra Patel is slated to be sworn in as the chief minister on Monday after the Bharatiya Janata Party recorded a resounding win in the recently held state assembly polls.The oath-taking ceremony will be attended by prominent BJP leaders, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah, amongst other dignitaries.

The swearing-in ceremony will be held at 2 pm on Monday, as per sources. Here is what to expect at Bhupendra Patel’s swearing-in ceremony tomorrow:

  • Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will be attending the swearing-in event of Bhupendra Patel. A source said that CM Yogi will depart from Lucknow for Gujarat at 9:45 am.
  • BJP’s Gujarat unit president CR Patil told India Today that an invitation has been sent to Governor Acharya Devvrat to attend the event on December 12. He said that a legislative meeting would be convened prior to the event.
  • Patel will be administered the oath as the 18th chief minister by Governor Acharya Devvrat at a function to be held at the Helipad Ground near the new Secretariat in Gandhinagar at 2 pm.
  • Earlier, Patil said that over six MLAs supported the decision to induct Patel as the succeeding CM after Kanubhai Desai had named him as the Gujarat CM’s face.
  • Several BJP Parliamentary members including PM Modi, Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah and JP Nadda will attend the swearing-in ceremony of Bhupendra Patel in Gujarat tomorrow. Chief ministers of other BJP-ruled states are set to attend the swearing-in ceremony, BJP sources said.
  • Along with Patel, some new ministers are also expected to take oath tomorrow.


Patel resigned as chief minister along with his entire cabinet on Friday to pave the way for the formation of a new government following the election results. Patel was elected as the leader of the BJP legislative party on Saturday. He met the governor and staked the claim to form the next government.

ALSO READ | Gujarat Assembly Election results 2022: BJP beats BJP in Gujarat

Patel won the Ghatlodia seat with the highest margin of 1.92 lakh votes in the elections. A low-profile BJP leader and the first from the Kadva Patidar sub-group to become CM, Patel replaced Vijay Rupani in September 2021. This will be Patel’s second term as the chief minister of Gujarat. In the just-concluded Gujarat Assembly elections, counting for which was held on December 8, the BJP won a seventh straight term by winning a record 156 seats in the 182-member House.

The BJP hasn’t lost a state election in Gujarat since 1995. The Congress won 17 constituencies and in its maiden fight in the state, the Aam Aadmi Party won 5.

ALSO READ | PM Modi bows to ‘Gujarat’s Jan Shakti’ as BJP wins record 7th term

ALSO READ | Frontrunners for Gujarat cabinet berth as BJP’s Bhupendra Patel gears up for 2nd term

Source link

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article