7.4 C
Tuesday, December 12, 2023

K C Tyagi, JD(U)’s well-known face, does not find a place in new national team of Nitish Kumar’s party | India News – Times of India

Must read

PATNA: K C Tyagi, who had been the secretary general-cum-national spokesperson of the JD(U) and the face of the party in the national capital for nearly two decades, could not find a place in the newly constituted 32-member national team of Nitish Kumar’s party.
JD(U) released a list of its new national office-bearers on Tuesday afternoon. But the name of Tyagi, who being the lone national secretary general in the JD(U) used to occupy the second slot (after the national president) in the previous lists of the party’ office-bearers, is conspicuously missing from the new list.
Insiders in the JD(U) said Tyagi had reportedly expressed his reservations over working under the party’s new leadership.
Contacted over phone, Tyagi told TOI that he had been holding key organizational posts in different political parties for the last 48 years. “I was first made an office-bearer in the erstwhile Lok Dal under the leadership of Choudhary Charan Singh in 1974. I held the post of national secretary general in the JD(U) since its formation in 2003 under the leadership of George Fernandes. As I had been holding organizational posts for a long period, I urged the party’s de facto leader Nitish Kumar not to allot me any post in the new committee. And, Nitish Ji agreed to my request,” Tyagi said.
JD(U) national secretary Senchumo Lotha, who recently extended support to the NDPP-BJP government in Nagaland while going against the decision of the party’s central committee, has also been ousted from the new national team.
The new list issued by the party’s national general secretary Afaque Ahmad Khan, comprises one post of president, one of vice-president, 22 of general secretary, seven of secretary and one post of treasurer.
Altogether four leaders from Kushwaha (Koeri) community have been made general secretaries apparently to diminish the impact of the party’s former parliamentary board chief Upendra Kushwaha’s recent exit from the JD(U).
Kushwaha recently quit the JD(U) and floated a new political party the Rashtriya Lok Janata Dal. The four Kushwaha leaders who have been made general secretaries are Purnia MP Santosh Kushwaha, former Bihar minister Ram Sewak Singh (Hathwa), former minister Shri Bhagwan Singh Kushwaha (Jagdishpur) and former MP Ram Kumar Sharma (Sitamarhi). Sharma was earlier with Upendra’s erstwhile outfit – the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party.
Altogether 12 new faces have found a position in the new committee. Of them, former Lok Sabha member Mangani Lal Mandal has been made the national vice-president, a new post created after abolition of Tyagi’s post of national secretary general.
Former Islampur MLA Rajib Ranjan, who recently quit the BJP and returned to JD(U), has been made the national general secretary. Ranjan has also been appointed as the party’s national spokesperson in place of Tyagi.
Other new faces who have found positions in the new team are Banka MP Giridhari Yadav, Jehanabad MP Chandeshwar Prasad Chandravanshi, Gaya MP Vijay Kumar Manjhi, former MP Kahkeshan Parveen (all general secretaries). JD(U)’s former Uttar Pradesh state unit president Anoop Patel, former Delhi state president Dayanand Rai and former Yuva JD(U) national president Sanjay Kumar have been appointed as national secretary.

Source link

- Advertisement -

More articles

Leave a Reply

- Advertisement -

Latest article